The Rising Star of 3rd-Gen Semiconductors-Silicon Carbide (SiC)

The revolution of the century for the automobile industry: Electric vehicles

The first car drove into the world in 1885. From the inception of the automobile industry to this day, the revolution of the century has been brought about by electric vehicles. Now, following the promotion of green energy policies in various countries and the restrictions on carbon emission standards, sales of electric vehicles are estimated to reach 22 million by 2030, and the market scale will grow nearly 10-fold. Leaders throughout the United States and Europe have announced that by 2035, cars will be fully equipped with clean energy sources.

According to statistics, the annual output value of the global automobile industry and peripheral industries in 2020 is approximately US$4 trillion—10 times the US$425 billion annual output value of the semiconductor industry. The electric vehicle market is huge and still growing, and is set to deconstruct the traditional gasoline-powered automobile industry. As a corollary, the semiconductor industry will now face a huge demand.

The fuel consumption rate in a traditional vehicle is determined by the engine; and the driving range of the electric vehicle in the future will be determined by 3rd-gen semiconductor SiC technology. A report from the research organization Yole Developpement points out that ever since Tesla took the global lead in adopting SiC on its Model 3 power module, giving it superior range, SiC has become the darling of the market, and many automakers and semiconductor manufacturers have vigorously worked out vertically integration of the supply chain for manufacturing of epitaxy, components, and wafers.

As the era of clean energy approaches, electric vehicles are set to replace traditional gas-powered vehicles
As the era of clean energy approaches, electric vehicles are set to replace traditional gas-powered vehicles

Achievements and challenges in Hermes-Epitek’s SiC process R&D

To develop 3rd-gen of semiconductors, Hermes-Epitek established a SiC department solely dedicated to SiC technology R&D, and designed its own 6″SiC furnace. After long-term growth of a SiC boule at temperatures of 2000℃-2500℃, SiC boule machining begins, forming the boule into a standard cylindrical shape. This is followed by double-line cutting to remove the damaged layer (a process called slicing or lapping) on the surface. And, finally, chemical-mechanical planarization (CMP) is used to produce a roughness of less than 0.1 nanometers and micropipe density (MPD) less than 0.06 wafers per square centimeter. Currently, Hermes-Epitek is moving towards its goal of commercial mass production.

SiC Manufacturing Process
SiC Manufacturing Process
SiC (n-type) Crystal Quality
SiC (n-type) Crystal Quality

The scope of SiC market applications

The Band Gap of SiC is more than 3 times wider than that of the existing Si (silicon) and can withstand more than 10 times the voltage. The low loss and high-power characteristics of SiC are suitable for high-voltage and high-current applications, including electric vehicles, electric vehicle charging infrastructure, solar and offshore wind power, and other green energy power generation equipment. Compared with traditional Si, the 3rd-gen semiconductor material SiC can reduce loss from power conversion by 50%, reduce power conversion costs by 20%, and increase the range of electric vehicles by 4%.

Electric vehicles currently on the market are mainly 200V-450V battery power systems, while higher-end versions will be bumped up to 800V systems. There is a massive demand on the market for extending battery range, increasing battery capacity, and shortening charging time. Therefore, it appears that batteries will develop towards high-voltage systems with 800V, giving SiC, which can withstand those high voltages, a promising outlook. And according to the observation of STMicroelectronics, there will be a market for SiC so long as vehicles are using 800V battery power systems.

SiC resolves issues with high voltage demand in electric vehicles and green energy equipment
SiC resolves issues with high voltage demand in electric vehicles and green energy equipment

Source:

Hou Guan-Zhou (8:31 on January 20, 2021); 2021 “The Coming of Electric Cars” Electric Cars are Approaching Our Era at Full Speed, and Right on its Tail are Multiple Business Opportunities for Silicon Carbide and Gallium Nitride; Tech News (2021/05/17), retrieved from: https://technews.tw/2021/01/20/ev-sic-gan/

Chen Kobe (15:00 on January 19, 2021); 2021 “The Coming of Electric Cars” Global Electric Vehicle Market Analysis: 40% growth in 2021, with total sales exceeding 3 million vehicles; Tech News (2021/05/18), retrieved from: https://technews.tw/2021/01/19/global-electric-vehicle-market-analyze-2021/

Anthea Chuang (April 16, 2021); SiC and GaN components set to take “pole position” in EV market EE Times Taiwan (2021/05/18), retrieved from: https://www.eettaiwan.com/20200416nt31-sic-and-gan-devices-extend-their-domain-in-ev-market/

May (January 20, 2021); Development of 3rd-gen semiconductor SiC applied to electric vehicles;

iKnow (2021/05/17); Retrieved from: https://iknow.stpi.narl.org.tw/Post/Read.aspx?PostID=17447

Wang Yu-Lun (November 19, 2020); The End of Gas-Powered Vehicles by 2035! Tong Zi-Xian: With the rebirth of the US$6-trillion automobile industry, Taiwan will have endless opportunities!; Business Next (2021/05/20), retrieved from: https://www.bnext.com.tw/article/60159/th-pegatron-ev-2035

第三代半导体的明日之星-SiC碳化硅

汽车业的世纪革命:电动车

世界第一台汽车,在1885年问世。汽车产业发展至今,电动车所带来的世纪革命已然成型。随着各国的绿能政策推动、碳排放标准的限制,电动车销售量预估到2030年将达到2200万辆,市场规模成长近10倍。美国与欧洲,多国政府领袖宣布将于2035年,汽车全面采用干净能源。

根据统计,2020年,全球汽车与其周边产业的年产值约为4兆美元,是半导体产业年产值4,250亿美元的10倍。一个庞大的电动车市场快速成长,将使传统汽油动力推动的汽车产业解构,半导体产业将出现巨大新需求。

传统汽车的耗油率是由引擎决定,未来电动车的续航力则是由第三代半导体SiC技术决定。调研机构Yole Developpement报告指出,自从特斯拉 (Tesla) 领先全球在 Model 3的逆变器模块上采用SiC,创造优越的续航力,SiC便成为市场宠儿,许多车厂和半导体厂商已如火如荼地在磊晶、组件制造、晶圆制造等供应链上垂直整合布局。

干净能源时代来临,电动车将取代传统燃油车
干净能源时代来临,电动车将取代传统燃油车

汉民SiC制程研发成果及挑战

汉民科技为了发展第三代半导体,成立SiC部门专责研发SiC技术,自行设计长晶炉 (6’’SiC Furnace),经过2000℃-2500℃的长时间长晶 (SiC Boule) 完成,晶锭开始定位加工 (SiC Boule Machining),成为标准圆柱形,接着进行复线切割,移除晶体表面的损伤层 (Slicing/Lapping),最终利用化学机械研磨 (CMP),产出粗造度小于0.1奈米、微孔缺陷 (Micropipe) 密度小于每平方公分0.06个晶圆,目前正朝商业化量产的目标前进。

SiC Manufacturing Process
SiC Manufacturing Process
SiC (n-type) Crystal Quality
SiC (n-type) Crystal Quality

SiC市场应用范畴

SiC的宽能隙 (Band Gap) 比现有Si (硅) 的能隙宽度宽3倍以上,可承受10倍以上的电压,SiC的低损耗、高功率特性适用在高电压与大电流的应用场域,包含电动车、电动车充电基础设施、太阳能以及离岸风电等绿能发电设备。第三代半导体材料SiC较传统Si,能降低50%电能转换损耗、降低20%的电源转换成本,还能提升电动车4%的续航能力。

目前的电动车主要是200V-450V的电池动力系统,更高阶的车款则将推进到800V的电池动力系统。市场对于延长电池的续航力、增加电池容量,及缩短充电时间等有极大需求,电池将朝高电压800V的方向发展,这使能承受高电压的SiC被寄予厚望。根据意法半导体的观察,只要是800V的电池动力系统,都将会是SiC的市场

SiC能有效解决电动车和绿能设备的高电压需求
SiC能有效解决电动车和绿能设备的高电压需求

数据源:

侯冠州 (2021年01月20日8:31);2021 电车袭来》电动车加足马力向前冲,碳化硅、氮化镓商机来势汹汹;科技新报Tech News (2021/05/17),取自https://technews.tw/2021/01/20/ev-sic-gan/

Chen Kobe (2021年01月19日15:00);2021 电车袭来》全球主要电动车市场分析:2021 成长 40%,总销量超越三百万辆;科技新报Tech News (2021/05/ 18),取自https://technews.tw/2021/01/19/global-electric-vehicle-market-analyze-2021/

Anthea Chuang (2021年04月16日);SiC与GaN组件抢上EV当「老大」;EE Times Taiwan (2021/05/18),取自https://www.eettaiwan.com/20200416nt31-sic-and-gan-devices-extend-their-domain-in-ev-market/

May (2021年01月20日);第三代半导体SiC发展应用于电动车;

科技产业信息室 (iKnow) (2021/05/17);取自https://iknow.stpi.narl.org.tw/Post/Read.aspx?PostID=17447

王郁伦 (2020年11月19日);2035年燃油车大限!童子贤:6兆美元汽车产业将脱胎换骨,台湾无穷机会!;数位时代 (2021/05/20),取自https://www.bnext.com.tw/article/60159/th-pegatron-ev-2035